Search Result

1 - 2 (2)
  • 1
Version:  Allplan 2018 / Allplan 2017 / Allplan 2016 / Allplan 2015 / Allplan 2014 / Allplan 2013 / Allplan 2012 / Allplan 2011  | Last modified: 15.11.2017
1 user(s) found this FAQ helpful

Question:

How can I update cross-section catalogs or install country-specific cross-section catalogs in Allplan 2011 and later?



Answer:

To install and save cross-section catalogs in Allplan 2011 and later, select Tools -> Defaults -> Cross-Section Catalogs. A dialog box opens. You can find a folder symbol and a disk symbol at bottom left.

To install cross-section catalogs, use the folder symbol. Another dialog opens, where you can select the cross-section catalog file you want to install. Select the file to be installed and click "Open" to confirm. This installs the corresponding cross-section catalog, which you can now use in Allplan.
To install country-specific cross-section catalogs, select the "Ing" folder, which was created when you installed Allplan. You can find it in the Allplan installation path (e.g., c:\Nemetschek\Allplan 201x\New\Ing - more information on the Allplan installation path is provided below in the "Notes" section).
This folder includes the country-specify cross-section catalog files.

To save a custom cross-section catalog, use the disk symbol. Another dialog opens, where you can select any folder to save the cross-section catalogs currently used in Allplan.



Note:

To update cross-section catalogs, you may need administrator privileges. If necessary, log on as an administrator before you start the update.

To use the cross-section catalogs for a specific project only, set the path settings for the cross-section catalogs of this project to project before you install the cross-section catalogs. In Allplan, open the "File" menu and select "Open Project..." Click the corresponding project with the right mouse button. Select "Properties". A dialog box opens. In the "Path settings" area, set the "Bar and mesh cross-section catalogs" to "Project".

To determine the path where Allplan is installed, use the Services application and select Service -> Hotline Tools-> showcfg. The Services application window shows the path of the Allplan installation folder.

The following abbreviations are used for the country-specific cross-section catalogs in the file names (axyzqusr.txt):
aut Austria
bel Belgium
bra Brazil
bul Bulgaria
deu Germany
eng England
fra France
hol Holland
hrv Croatia
ita Italy
kor Korea
pol Poland
rum Romania
rus Russia
slk Slovakia
svn Slovenia
swi Switzerland
tch Czech Republic
ung Hungary
usa USA

Download PDF  FAQ_EN_Updating_cross-section_catalogs_(Allplan_2011...
Version:  Allplan 2021 / Allplan 2020 / Allplan 2019 / Allplan 2018 / Allplan 2017 / Allplan 2016 / Allplan 2015 / Allplan 2014  | Last modified: 30.09.2020
3 user(s) found this FAQ helpful

Question:

How can I check out a computer and continue to work as a normal CAD user with my usual settings and permissions?



Answer:

Install the "Microsoft Loopback Adapter" driver.
This driver is necessary so that network services are running on the computer all the time.
Go to Allplan Connect for a detailed description: https://connect.allplan.com/en/faqid/000162ae.html


Sign in as the Allplan administrator to the computer.


Step 1: add the computer to workgroup manager
You must add the computer to the workgroup so that you can store data (data server) on this computer. Do the following:

Create data folders:
Create a folder - for example, “Nemdata” - on the computer and share it (full control).
Create the “Allplan” subfolder in this folder. Create two subfolders - “usr” and “prj” - in the Allplan folder.
In this example: “...\Nemdata\Allplan\prj” and “...\Nemdata\Allplan\usr”

To share a folder for the Allplan file storage

  1. Start File Explorer on the computer that you want to use for file storage and switch to the folder that you want to share (in this example, the “Nemdata” folder).
  2. Right-click the folder that you want to share and select Give access to -> Specific peopleon the shortcut menu.
  3. Select Everyoneand click Share.


Add computer:

  1. Start the Services application as the workgroup administrator.
  2. Click and select Manage computers and projects.
  3. Click the Add any computer to Allplan workgroupicon and select the computer that you want to add.
  4. Select the “Allplan” subfolder under the share and click “OK” to confirm. This computer is now listed under workgroup server.


Note:If you have problems adding the computer to workgroup manager, read the following instructions:
https://connect.allplan.com/en/faqid/20200317162849.html



Step 2: define project owner
A user can only move a project if the user is the owner of this project.
The ownership of a project can only be changed by an Allplan administrator (or the owner of the project).
Allplan -> File -> ProjectPilot ->
Go to the “Projects” node, right-click the required project and click Propertieson the shortcut menu.
Define the owner.


Step 3: move projects
Sign in as the user who wants to check out the computer.
Select the Services application -> Workgroup Manager -> Manage computers and projects.
Click the main server and select the project that you want to move.
Drag the projects one after the other to the computer to be checked out.

Important note: You can take projects with you in several ways.

1. You move the project to the computer.
Move project: Drag the project to the destination computer, or open the shortcut menu of the project and click “Cut”. After this, open the shortcut menu of the destination computer and click “Paste”.
After you have checked in the computer, move the project back to the server so that it is available to all and included in backups again.

2. You copy projects. Click a project, select and hold the Ctrl key and drag the project to the destination computer. Or: Open the shortcut menu of the project and click “Copy”. After this, open the shortcut menu of the destination computer and click “Paste”.

You can continue in two ways: Lock the original project on the server to protect it from changes. Consequently, nobody in the office can work on this project, but it is still on the server. When you check in the computer again, you unlock the project on the server, delete the project and copy your copy back to the server if you have changed the project.
Alternatively, both projects remain active. Consequently, both the project copied and the original on the server can be worked on. In this case, however, you must adjust the data manually when you are back in the office by copying the changed drawing files of the projects by using ProjectPilot.




Step 4: check out the computer
Select the Services application -> Workgroup Manager -> Manage computers and projects.
Click your computer and then click Check outin the lower-right area.
Confirm the message that tells you that there are still user folders on the computer to be checked out.
Enter a comment and click OK. Users in the office see this comment when they try to access a project that is on the computer that is checked out.
Specify the parts of the office standard you want to copy to the computer and click OK to confirm.
The first time you check out the computer, you must copy the office standard once so that the entire STD folder is on this computer. This is no longer necessary when you check out the computer afterward because the contents of the STD folder do not change very often.


Conclusion:

You can now remove the computer from the network and work on your projects when you are out of the office. To make sure that the projects are not changed in the office in the meantime, the projects that are on the computer checked out are locked for the CAD users on the network. These users see the comment you entered when you checked out the computer.



Notes:


Download PDF  FAQ_EN_Workgroup_Manager_checking_out_computer_and_w...
1 - 2 (2)
  • 1
https://campus.allplan.com/ uses cookies  -  More information

Accept