Search Result

1 - 2 (2)
  • 1
Version:  Allplan 2021 / Allplan 2020 / Allplan 2019 / Allplan 2018 / Allplan 2017 / Allplan 2016  | Last modified: 01.10.2020 10:44
2 user(s) found this FAQ helpful

Question:

How can I import data from an earlier version?



Answer:

You can import data from the last three Allplan versions.
Consequently, the following import operations are possible:

Target version <- import possible from version

2017 <- 2014
2016 <- 2013
2015 <- 2012
2014 <- 2011
2013 <- 2009
2012 <- 2008
2011 <- 2006
2009 <- 2005
2008 <- 2004
2006 <- 2003
2005 <- 17
2004 <- 16

We cannot guarantee that data created in older versions can be imported and edited. The conversion of older data may be incomplete, which may affect intelligent components in particular.


1. Archived data from an earlier version (not older than three previous versions):

There are two ways to convert the data to the current version:

  • Import the project backups created and archived using the
    Services application -> Data Backup -> Import -> Projects.
    After importing the projects, convert them by opening each project once.
  • Import the backups archived using the
    Services application -> File -> Restore documents of any version to '...\Extern'.
    The data are written to the external path.
    You can now process the converted data in ProjectPilot.



2. Archived data from an older Allplan version (older than three previous versions):

  • See whether you can use the approach described in step 1 to import the old projects.
  • If available, it is a good idea to install an old Allplan version. Import the backups created and archived into this old version and convert the projects using the Services application. If you have imported a complete project backup, convert the data by opening each project once. When finished, repeat this process with a newer version (up to three versions later) until the data are up-to-date.
  • If an old Allplan version is not available, you can also have the data converted by Allplan. Please note that this service is not free of charge. Please contact Technical Support -> support.de@allplan.com.




Notes:

  • You can convert the data of all projects at once. Read the following FAQ in Allplan Connect: https://connect.allplan.com/en/faqid/20090408124904.html
  • If enough hard disk space is available, you are advised to keep and maintain the projects so that Allplan automatically converts them to the current version whenever you upgrade.
  • If there are project-specific smart symbol catalogs, you should open the smart symbol catalog once to convert the data.
Download PDF  FAQ_EN_Transferring_data_from_old_Allplan_versions_....
Version:  Allplan 2021 / Allplan 2020 / Allplan 2019 / Allplan 2018 / Allplan 2017 / Allplan 2016 / Allplan 2015 / Allplan 2014  | Last modified: 30.09.2020
3 user(s) found this FAQ helpful

Question:

How can I check out a computer and continue to work as a normal CAD user with my usual settings and permissions?



Answer:

Install the "Microsoft Loopback Adapter" driver.
This driver is necessary so that network services are running on the computer all the time.
Go to Allplan Connect for a detailed description: https://connect.allplan.com/en/faqid/000162ae.html


Sign in as the Allplan administrator to the computer.


Step 1: add the computer to workgroup manager
You must add the computer to the workgroup so that you can store data (data server) on this computer. Do the following:

Create data folders:
Create a folder - for example, “Nemdata” - on the computer and share it (full control).
Create the “Allplan” subfolder in this folder. Create two subfolders - “usr” and “prj” - in the Allplan folder.
In this example: “...\Nemdata\Allplan\prj” and “...\Nemdata\Allplan\usr”

To share a folder for the Allplan file storage

  1. Start File Explorer on the computer that you want to use for file storage and switch to the folder that you want to share (in this example, the “Nemdata” folder).
  2. Right-click the folder that you want to share and select Give access to -> Specific peopleon the shortcut menu.
  3. Select Everyoneand click Share.


Add computer:

  1. Start the Services application as the workgroup administrator.
  2. Click and select Manage computers and projects.
  3. Click the Add any computer to Allplan workgroupicon and select the computer that you want to add.
  4. Select the “Allplan” subfolder under the share and click “OK” to confirm. This computer is now listed under workgroup server.


Note:If you have problems adding the computer to workgroup manager, read the following instructions:
https://connect.allplan.com/en/faqid/20200317162849.html



Step 2: define project owner
A user can only move a project if the user is the owner of this project.
The ownership of a project can only be changed by an Allplan administrator (or the owner of the project).
Allplan -> File -> ProjectPilot ->
Go to the “Projects” node, right-click the required project and click Propertieson the shortcut menu.
Define the owner.


Step 3: move projects
Sign in as the user who wants to check out the computer.
Select the Services application -> Workgroup Manager -> Manage computers and projects.
Click the main server and select the project that you want to move.
Drag the projects one after the other to the computer to be checked out.

Important note: You can take projects with you in several ways.

1. You move the project to the computer.
Move project: Drag the project to the destination computer, or open the shortcut menu of the project and click “Cut”. After this, open the shortcut menu of the destination computer and click “Paste”.
After you have checked in the computer, move the project back to the server so that it is available to all and included in backups again.

2. You copy projects. Click a project, select and hold the Ctrl key and drag the project to the destination computer. Or: Open the shortcut menu of the project and click “Copy”. After this, open the shortcut menu of the destination computer and click “Paste”.

You can continue in two ways: Lock the original project on the server to protect it from changes. Consequently, nobody in the office can work on this project, but it is still on the server. When you check in the computer again, you unlock the project on the server, delete the project and copy your copy back to the server if you have changed the project.
Alternatively, both projects remain active. Consequently, both the project copied and the original on the server can be worked on. In this case, however, you must adjust the data manually when you are back in the office by copying the changed drawing files of the projects by using ProjectPilot.




Step 4: check out the computer
Select the Services application -> Workgroup Manager -> Manage computers and projects.
Click your computer and then click Check outin the lower-right area.
Confirm the message that tells you that there are still user folders on the computer to be checked out.
Enter a comment and click OK. Users in the office see this comment when they try to access a project that is on the computer that is checked out.
Specify the parts of the office standard you want to copy to the computer and click OK to confirm.
The first time you check out the computer, you must copy the office standard once so that the entire STD folder is on this computer. This is no longer necessary when you check out the computer afterward because the contents of the STD folder do not change very often.


Conclusion:

You can now remove the computer from the network and work on your projects when you are out of the office. To make sure that the projects are not changed in the office in the meantime, the projects that are on the computer checked out are locked for the CAD users on the network. These users see the comment you entered when you checked out the computer.



Notes:


Download PDF  FAQ_EN_Workgroup_Manager_checking_out_computer_and_w...
1 - 2 (2)
  • 1
https://campus.allplan.com/ uses cookies  -  More information

Accept