Search Result

1 - 2 (2)
  • 1
Version:  Allplan 2021 / Allplan 2020 / Allplan 2019 / Allplan 2018 / Allplan 2017 / Allplan 2016 / Allplan 2015 / Allplan 2014  | Last modified: 30.09.2020
 

Question:

How can I check out a computer and continue to work as a normal CAD user with my usual settings and permissions?



Answer:

Install the "Microsoft Loopback Adapter" driver.
This driver is necessary so that network services are running on the computer all the time.
Go to Allplan Connect for a detailed description: https://connect.allplan.com/en/faqid/000162ae.html


Sign in as the Allplan administrator to the computer.


Step 1: add the computer to workgroup manager
You must add the computer to the workgroup so that you can store data (data server) on this computer. Do the following:

Create data folders:
Create a folder - for example, “Nemdata” - on the computer and share it (full control).
Create the “Allplan” subfolder in this folder. Create two subfolders - “usr” and “prj” - in the Allplan folder.
In this example: “...\Nemdata\Allplan\prj” and “...\Nemdata\Allplan\usr”

To share a folder for the Allplan file storage

  1. Start File Explorer on the computer that you want to use for file storage and switch to the folder that you want to share (in this example, the “Nemdata” folder).
  2. Right-click the folder that you want to share and select Give access to -> Specific peopleon the shortcut menu.
  3. Select Everyoneand click Share.


Add computer:

  1. Start the Services application as the workgroup administrator.
  2. Click and select Manage computers and projects.
  3. Click the Add any computer to Allplan workgroupicon and select the computer that you want to add.
  4. Select the “Allplan” subfolder under the share and click “OK” to confirm. This computer is now listed under workgroup server.


Note:If you have problems adding the computer to workgroup manager, read the following instructions:
https://connect.allplan.com/en/faqid/20200317162849.html



Step 2: define project owner
A user can only move a project if the user is the owner of this project.
The ownership of a project can only be changed by an Allplan administrator (or the owner of the project).
Allplan -> File -> ProjectPilot ->
Go to the “Projects” node, right-click the required project and click Propertieson the shortcut menu.
Define the owner.


Step 3: move projects
Sign in as the user who wants to check out the computer.
Select the Services application -> Workgroup Manager -> Manage computers and projects.
Click the main server and select the project that you want to move.
Drag the projects one after the other to the computer to be checked out.

Important note: You can take projects with you in several ways.

1. You move the project to the computer.
Move project: Drag the project to the destination computer, or open the shortcut menu of the project and click “Cut”. After this, open the shortcut menu of the destination computer and click “Paste”.
After you have checked in the computer, move the project back to the server so that it is available to all and included in backups again.

2. You copy projects. Click a project, select and hold the Ctrl key and drag the project to the destination computer. Or: Open the shortcut menu of the project and click “Copy”. After this, open the shortcut menu of the destination computer and click “Paste”.

You can continue in two ways: Lock the original project on the server to protect it from changes. Consequently, nobody in the office can work on this project, but it is still on the server. When you check in the computer again, you unlock the project on the server, delete the project and copy your copy back to the server if you have changed the project.
Alternatively, both projects remain active. Consequently, both the project copied and the original on the server can be worked on. In this case, however, you must adjust the data manually when you are back in the office by copying the changed drawing files of the projects by using ProjectPilot.




Step 4: check out the computer
Select the Services application -> Workgroup Manager -> Manage computers and projects.
Click your computer and then click Check outin the lower-right area.
Confirm the message that tells you that there are still user folders on the computer to be checked out.
Enter a comment and click OK. Users in the office see this comment when they try to access a project that is on the computer that is checked out.
Specify the parts of the office standard you want to copy to the computer and click OK to confirm.
The first time you check out the computer, you must copy the office standard once so that the entire STD folder is on this computer. This is no longer necessary when you check out the computer afterward because the contents of the STD folder do not change very often.


Conclusion:

You can now remove the computer from the network and work on your projects when you are out of the office. To make sure that the projects are not changed in the office in the meantime, the projects that are on the computer checked out are locked for the CAD users on the network. These users see the comment you entered when you checked out the computer.



Notes:


Download PDF  FAQ_EN_Workgroup_Manager_checking_out_computer_and_w...
Version:  Allplan 2021 / Allplan 2020 / Allplan 2019 / Allplan 2018 / Allplan 2017 / Allplan 2016  | Last modified: 30.09.2020
 

Question:

How can I make several projects available to users when Workgroup Manager is installed?



Answer:

You can make several projects available to a user or define a user as the project owner of several projects.

Do the following:

First, log in as the Allplan administrator.
If necessary, set up an Allplan user for the new Windows user: Services application -> Workgroup Manager -> Configuration -> Add a user
(Allplan 2014 and later:Services application -> Workgroup Manager ->Administer users)

Start Allplan and then ProjectPilot by clicking
File -> ProjectPilot

Open the Projects folder in the area on the left.
You can see all the projects in the Contents of "Projects" area on the right.

a. Making several projects available to users:
In the area on the right, select the projects to which you want to add users or from which you want to remove users (CTRL or SHIFT key or use a selection rectangle).

Click one of the selected projects with the mouse button. On the shortcut menu, click
Add / remove authorized users...
The Add / Remove Authorized Usersdialog box opens.

Select the users you want to add to or remove from the selected projects.
Note:
The user list displayed only helps you select users. It does not list all the authorized users currently assigned to projects.

Click Addor Remove.
This adds or removes the selected users to or from the selected projects. Whether users you have already added to a project are added again is irrelevant. The same applies if you remove users you have never added to a project.

b. Defining a project owner for several projects
In the area on the right, select the projects for which you want to define the owner (CTRL or SHIFT key).

Click one of the selected projects with the mouse button. On the shortcut menu, click
Change project owner...
The Define Owner dialog box opens.

Select the user you want to define as the owner of the selected projects.
Note: The user list displayed helps you select users. You can define only one user as the owner.

Click OK.

c. Defining a project owner for a project or making a project available to several users(also applies to earlier versions):
In ProjectPilot in the area on the right, click the relevant project with the right mouse button. On the shortcut menu, click Properties.
The Properties for <project name>dialog box opens. Switch to the Security tab and define the owner and the authorized users.



Note:

You can add or remove project users or define the project owner only if the projects in question are in the current Allplan format.

Download PDF  FAQ_EN_Making_several_projects_available_to_users.pd...
1 - 2 (2)
  • 1
https://campus.allplan.com/ uses cookies  -  More information

Accept